Why is there 2 different options when I want to Share a List but not a Household List?
In the Frugl App we have a few different types of lists you can have outside of your shopping note. These lists are to help you organise, keep track of different products, or just let you plan out an event. To do this we created multiple types of lists to reflect the different ways that our users were using lists.
Shared Lists – Lists that you did not create but have been shared with you that you can also update
Regular or Personal Lists – Lists that you can use anyway you want including sharing them with others
Household Lists – Lists that you can use to keep track of items that you keep in your fridge, pantry, etc and also get a little prompt whenever any of those items are on sale
When you share a Regular or Personal List you have 2 options, either you can share it as a copy which will let others make a duplicate of what you have in that List without making changes to your original list OR you can invite someone to use the same list, this lets someone else make changes or updates to a list (like when you share your Shopping Note with another Frugl Grocery user).
When you Share a Household List you are effectively inviting this person into your home to share the contents of your Fridge, Pantry, etc. Unless you have more than one house you are likely only going to want to share that with others who live in your household.
Lists can be used in a bunch of different ways but to give a specific example, say you have created the perfect recipe that you want to share with others but not let them change what you have curated, then you would want to share only a copy of a list. BUT if you were throwing a party and needed help from others you might want to create a list and invite others to join it so that they could update or add to the list as needed.
And Household Lists are special but you can invite others that share your Fridge, Pantry, Sink but unlike other Lists if you create a Household list you can leave a shared Household List and the List + contents will remain